Diocesan Feastday September 9th St Peter Claver

Archbishop Robert Ndlovu-Archidiocese of Harare

Archbishop Robert Ndlovu-Archidiocese of Harare


Cathedral of the Sacred Heart of the Archdiocese of Harare


Archbishop Robert C. Ndlovu
Ordained Bishop of Hwange on May 9 1999. Appointed Archbishop of Harare, 10 June 2004 and installed Archbishop of Harare 21 August 2004.


Archbishop’s House, 66 Fifth Street, Harare
Tel: (04) 792125
Postal Address: P O Box CY 330, Causeway, Harare
Tel: (04) 727386 (Office)
Fax: (04) 721598

The Archdiocese is but a fragment of the original Zambesi Mission which was entrusted to the Fathers of the Society of Jesus by Propaganda, on the 2nd of July 1879. In 1893 the Portuguese territory was cut off and in 1927 the erection of the Broken Hill Prefecture further reduced the vast area to about half. The erection of the Independent Mission of Bulawayo (now Archdiocese) in 1930, reduced the area to 280,912 square km. In 1946 ten civil districts and part of an eleventh became the Prefecture of Fort Victoria (now the Diocese of Gweru) and were confided to the Bethlehem Fathers. In 1953 the districts of Makoni, Inyanga (Nyanga) and Umtali (Mutare) with Melsetter (Chimanimani) and Chipinga (Chipinge) from Fort Victoria Prefecture were formed into the Umtali Prefecture (now Mutare Diocese). Selukwe (Shurugwi, Gwelo (Gweru), and Que Que (Kwekwe) were transferred to the Fort Victoria Vicariate (now Diocese of Gweru.) Sebungwe became part of the Wankie Prefecture (now Hwange Diocese). In 1974 the districts of Darwin, Lomagundi, Sipolilo (Guruve), Urungwe and that part of Kariba east of the Umniati River were formed into the Sinoia Prefecture (now Chinhoyi Diocese). This further reduced the area by 54 345 sq. km. The Archdiocese now comprises the civil districts of Mazowe, Bindura, Shamva, Murewa, Rushinga (south of the Mazowe river), Mudzi, Mutoko, Kadoma, Chegutu, Harare, Goromonzi, Seke, Marondera, Charter, Wedza and Buhera.

Area: 63,555 sq. km.
Population: 4 866 000
Catholics: 483 293


Vicar General: Very Rev.Fr. Kennedy Muguti
Tel: (04) 727386/792125
Chancellor: Fr. Brendon Conway
Secretary: Fr. Patrick Ngwenya
Tel:(04) 727386 Tel:(04) 727386
Financial Administrator: Sr. Angeline Katsukunya LCBL
Tel: (04) 727386

Diocesan Cousultors:

  • Fr. S. Buckland SJ,
  • Fr. F Byrne SPS
  • Fr. E Manera
  • Fr. Kennedy Muguti
  • Fr. G Kanhongwa
  • Fr. L. MaCarthy,
  • Fr. K. Mhembere,
  • Fr. P Ngwenya
Secretary of Administration: Sr. Katsukunya LCBL
Tel: (04) 727386
Vocations Director: Fr. Claud Maganga
Education Secretary: Sr. Claris Gowo LCBL
Health Secretary: Sr. Victoria Sanyika LCBL,
Tel: (04) 723032
CCJP: Fr. Maxwell Jaya OFM
CARITAS: Br. David Muronda
Tel: (04) 723032
Adult Guilds Spiritual Director: Fr. Kennedy Muguti Tel: (04) 727386/792125
Youth Guilds Spiritual Director: Fr. Claud Maganga
TEl: (04) 727386 TEl: (04) 727386
PMS: Fr. Munyaradzi Chiduku
Tel:(04)727386 Tel:(04)727386
Social Communications: Pending